All for Joomla All for Webmasters

4th Annual Royal-Thomian Sailing Regatta

The 4th Annual Royal-Thomian Sailing Regatta was held on the 30th of June and the 1st of July 2017 at the Ceylon Motor Yacht Club at the Bolgoda Lake. These two days of intense and exciting water sports were held in the memory of the late Ranil Dias played for the prestigious Ranil Dias Memorial Trophy.

The first day of Sailing concluded with Royal College taking top positions in both the laser and optimist category, however just falling short of clinching the overall points. The races commenced at 10.30 a.m. Three races were held during the morning session and two races were held after the lunch break. A total of over 20 boats competed in the optimist category and approximately 18 boats competed in the laser category. Nisal Walpola of Royal College succeeded in winning the individual event and was awarded as the best laser sailor of the regatta. Both Kaif Sally and Suneragiri Liyanage joined the top 3 best sailors of the Royal Side. Kethake Weerasooriya, Akil Ismail and Armand Flamer Caldera were the top highest ranking Thomians. Sahanya Wevita of the Royal side succeeded in being placed third overall in the optimist category against a far superior Thomian optimist roster.

The four main events were held on the second leg of the regatta. The team races are won by the side that wins the most races out of three encounters. The team racing events kicked off with the optimist B team races soon followed by optimist A team races. Both events saw the Thomians taking the upper hand.

The two main events of the regatta were the Laser B team and Laser A team events. Royal College Laser B team comprising of Vice Captain Binara Bathuwanthudawe as well as Sansith Heenatigala and Yuneth Wijenaike emerged victorious winning 2 out of 3 encounters.

The final event of this 2 day clash of the leading schools in the Sailing arena was the Laser A team event. The Royal side was represented by the Captian Mayuka Siriwardana, Suneragiri Liyanage, Kaif Sally and Nisal Walpola. Their Thomian counterparts were Captian Rehan De Silva, Armand Flamer Caldera, Kathaka Weerasooriya and Akil Ismail. The first out of the three encounters saw both schools tying with 18 points each, thus the firsts round went to STC with the tie breaking in her favor. The Second race saw Royal College maintaining dominance till the finish line where S. Thomas College skillfully turned the tables in their favor. The third round saw the RC A team dominate the Thomians spectacularly ending the race with the 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 5th positions. Overall the event ended with a 2 – 1 split in favour of the school by the sea.

The 4th Annual Royal – Thomian Sailing regatta concluded with Royal College narrowly missing the target and giving away the Ranil Dias Memorial Trophy to a worthy Thomian Side. The Regatta maintained its high standard of excellent sailing and great sportsmanship. The Thomian Coach and Alumni of Royal College is quoted reflecting on the eventful two days “It was not Royal College or S. Thomas College that won today, it was the future of the sport of sailing that did!”

The Royal – Thomian Sailing regatta tally now stands 1 – 0 in favour of STC. The Royal outfit waits patiently in anticipation to even the scores. Till next year’s clash, Floreat!

Kaif Sally